At lease one point during my sessions with my cancer counselor, we brush on the topic of life and death, and my counselor almost always says, “I could walk to my car tonight and be killed; you could live until you’re 85.”

I used to be guilty of thinking that I could control my life. As I read more into the story that happened early this morning at the movie theater in Colorado, I am definitely reaffirmed that this is not the case. No one can control their lives. We can try, like I did, but you become exhausted, frustrated and lost, because the more you try to control things, the more things go array.

I am very saddened and confused by the tragedy that occurred. The senseless act of taking innocent human lives is so heart braking and baffling to me. I can’t even imagine doing something as “normal” and fun as going to the movies, then having it be the place where take your last breath. And to not know why you were dying. I have a feeling we will never know why the killer decided to do what he did.

Yes, I have beat cancer, but that doesn’t mean I can’t die tomorrow in a car accident. That’s why I believe in celebrating life every day, to go for my dreams, and never look back. I am learning to let go of my control issues and live my “dream life”. I also think it is very important to help others, so once I am officially done with this cancer stuff I am excited to see how this will play out in my life.

Life is too short to “play it safe”. The thing holding you back from living the life you always wanted to live, is you.

The families of those killed in the shooting will definitely be in my prayers tonight.

Take care and God Bless everyone!

Kathy

