My last and final cancer treatment (chemotherapy) is scheduled for next Tuesday, July 24th – yay! I was hoping to get it done a week early, tomorrow, but my blood levels are still too low. Specifically, my white blood cell count is really low. This means that I have to beware of germs, and I have to wash my hands like a thousand times a day.

It’s going to be a long week.

This round of chemotherapy has been so hard on me physically. It’s proven how amazingly strong my body is, and how hard it fights to correct what the chemo does to it. This has taught me that my body considers being balanced as a way of survival. It doesn’t like being “off”. Does that make sense? I knew this to a certain extent before, but seeing it in action it actually pretty cool. For example, when I receive the chemo medicine my blood levels sloooowly drop, but once they reach their lowest point and start to reproduce, the levels go up super super quick. Like my cells are really anxious to go back to “normal”. Amazing, right? I can apply this thinking towards fueling my body with the right foods, exercise and the TLC that is needs. I now understand that my body is an intelligent, well-oiled machine that needs to be cared for on a daily basis. Treat your body well, and it will treat you well!

I have been so emotional with the thought of my last treatment coming up. I’ve been at this for nine long months – now what do I do with myself? Contrary to my assumptions, one does not just beat cancer and go back to “normal” life. There is a whole other journey of being a survivor post-treatment. I’m not quite sure what that entails yet, but I know there are many support groups and helpful information through the cancer organizations I’ve come in contact with. There’s the physical recovery, mental recovery, and easing back into daily things like going to work, chores, working out, socializing and so forth. My oncologist said it would take about 3 months after my last treatment for my body to physically recover. I don’t even remember what that feels like to be “normal”! I’m definitely looking forward to that.

I am so excited to start planning for my recovery. No longer will my life revolve around treatments, blood levels or feeling icky. As much as I just want to jump back into EVERYTHING, I have been strongly advised to take it slow. I think I can handle that – I HOPE I can handle that. 🙂

As I start to make a list of things I want to do after treatment, I try to remember to always choose happiness. I used to be a terrible people-pleaser, and of course now I know that I have to do things that I love and to do them for myself. Maybe I will elaborate on this more at a later time.

Until next time … take care everyone! My next post will feature something shiny, red, new and FAST. Can you guess what? You’ll just have to wait and see!!

xoxo,

Kathy

 

