First off I want to give a shout out to Oregon this weekend – 80 degree weather! Whoohoo! This is exactly what I need, so thank you Mother Nature! It’s 10:00am Saturday morning, no sun yet, and I am anxiously waiting for the clouds to part.

On Wednesday this last week I had surgery to have a “sleeve” put into my uterus to use during internal radiation treatment. The surgery went fine, so thank you everyone who showed their support on my Facebook page! Thursday was my first treatment. I was told that the first one would be the worst, and it was no picnic! BUT I made it through. I dug down deep for strength and I had an amazing medical team with me. One treatment down, four more to go! My next one is on Tuesday.

Since I had surgery I didn’t have to do chemotherapy this week – YES!! That means more energy for me! Also, the internal radiation has very little side affects (just some cramping) so I shouldn’t be sick at all this week. What will I do with myself?? I’m going to take advantage of my newly found energy and stamina and be ACTIVE!

Being active is one of the things that I miss the most about “normal” life and always under-appreciated pre-cancer. Now that I am going through chemotherapy and radiation, I’ve been completely stripped of my energy. My main focus is trying not to feel sick, and any energy I have left after that goes toward doing everything day things. On a bad day, I couldn’t even get out of bed. I have completely redefined what it means to be active in my daily life and now understand how important it is. What I would do to go running on a track again! I can’t beat myself up for letting my body go to mush during treatment, but unfortunately I have to start from scratch to rebuild my muscle strength and endurance. I get sore just from taking walks! I don’t want to jump the gun, but I’m excited to ease back into physical activity.

Every day I get closer and closer to the end! Feeling good makes me so anxious to return to normal life post-cancer treatments. It feels like I’ll be starting on a blank slate with new habits, new routines, and a new me. I have many hopes and fears about starting my new path, and I know that everything I learned on this journey will lead me to a better life and many more amazing experiences!

Thank you again everyone for comforting me with love and support. Enjoy the sunshine!!

xoxo,

Kathy

