I had another ultra sound this morning, my first since starting the hormone injections. This was the make-it-or-break-it appointment to see if I could grow new follicles (eggs) despite my super low estrogen levels.

I went into this fertility treatment journey without a whole lot on my side … my hormone levels are so wacky from doing chemotherapy that it did not make me the ideal candidate for IVF. However, since I didn’t exactly tip the scale of hopelessness, my fertility doctor said it was still worth a try. Also, my oncologist only permitted 4 weeks off my cancer treatments, and my radiation doctor is anxious to get the process going. Alex and I only have this ONE chance to preserve embryos of our very own and a really crappy success rate. But fate has been kind to me so far (post cancer, of course).

My fertility doctor is hopeful for me, so I am hopeful too. My hormone medicine was prescribed a little higher than normal so we would have a better chance of producing follicles. It’s been 5 days, and I think my husband and I are starting to master the art of injections! I take one injection in the morning and one at night. I have a little bruising from when hubby first tried it (don’t ask) but we’re getting the hang of it.

Now, to my ultra sound appointment. Last Thursday my ovaries were totally empty, but they came through for me today! The doctor found 4 follicles in one ovary and 3 follicles in the other – YES!!!! We could see them on the ultra sound screen. One of the eggs is at full term it looks like, and the others are smaller and have to catch up. Once they are all big and plump, then it’s time to retrieve them, which could take another week.

We are so relieved! The the doctor, who was filling in for my normal fertility doctor, said he was super nervous about the appointment and didn’t want to be the one to tell me the bad news (if there was going to be any). I should be hearing from my nurse soon to see if I should change my hormone dosage or not. Then after that I just keep doing what I’m doing.

Wow. So much work for one little tiny baby. I have always known that I have wanted to be a mom one day, but never pictured myself actually BEING a mom. Now going through all of this, I definitely have baby on the brain. Well, isn’t life a cupcake?

May introduce to you … my uterus! And the only ultra sound photo I will ever have of my very own. Yes, it’s just an empty uterus, but my, is she pretty! I have the most awesome techs at OHSU. Thanks guys!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

xoxo

Kathy

