Hi every one, and TGIF! This has been one of the craziest weeks of my life. Between fasting, waiting to hear if I have more cancer or not, possibly losing my ovaries and going through major surgery, I am beat! 🙂 I could not have made it through this without the constant support of my wonderful husband, our parents, family and friends. Thank you for all of your prayer and well wishes! Now, this is how it all went down:

Sunday: I started my liquid diet of jello and broth to prep my body for my possible surgery on Wednesday. I’m nervous about Tuesday, which is when I get my PET scan results back.

Monday: Still on the liquid diet; extremely hungry and tired. Can’t sleep because I am so anxious about the PET scan results which will show whether I still have active cancer cells or not. Surgery is scheduled for Wednesday, but will be canceled if the doctors think I need more chemotherapy. Praying that I don’t have to have any more chemo. It sucks.

Tuesday: Results day! Still on liquid diet so I am extremely hungry, tired and anxious. Luckily, my oncologist gives me the GREAT news that my chemotherapy has worked the best it can and my cancer is contained. I can stop chemo treatments and I’m clear to go into surgery the next day. The surgery will consist of minor incisions on my abdomen to examine and possibly remove my lymph nodes, and to examine and possibly remove my ovaries.  I spend the rest of the day frantically packing and preparing for major surgery.

Wednesday: Surgery day! I couldn’t sleep the night before, and I was at the hospital with my husband at 5:30am. I was super nervous about receiving the anesthesia, but everything went fine of course (they gave me Valium). All I remember is the doctors putting the gas mask on me, and then I wake up in a heavy, sedated state. I can barely talk because they had a breathing tube down my throat during the procedure, and my shoulder and neck muscles really hurt. I found out that the doctor only had to remove one bad lymph node and I got to keep my ovaries, but despite the good news I feel sick. I almost had to stay the night at the hospital because I kept getting nauseous. But I was determined to get myself home! I succeeded and left the hospital that evening. Had to fib to the nurse a little. :/

Thursday: First day after surgery! My incisions sting, and my neck and shoulder muscles hurt pretty bad. I can barely get myself in and out of bed. Luckily I am able to eat solid food but only in a little portions.

Friday: Today! I slept a lot, and I still get sleepy at the drop of a hat. My incisions hurt less, but my abdomen and upper thighs are swollen and tender. Thankfully my shoulder and neck muscles feel better. It’s hard to eat solids without getting nauseous, which makes me sad. I was looking forward to gorging myself with food after fasting earlier this week. Oh well. I think I am feeling as well as I could be right now.

Phew! That was my week. My body has been through it all. I am still trying to take it all in (my famous words throughout this entire experience). I didn’t mentally prepare for the surgery because I was so worried about possibly getting bad results from the PET scan and the surgery being canceled. I didn’t want to get my hopes up, but there must be some one looking out for me! The good news just keeps coming. I hope I am not jinxing myself, but what a stream of luck I have been having with this cancer! (Can you even have cancer and be “lucky”? lol). I continue to find new strength within myself, and every day is just another day to find out something new. I am letting my good fortune empower me and make me the best person I can be. I am finally learning to take care of myself and find my voice. There are many changes coming!

Next on the cancer agenda is having my eggs removed and frozen sometime next week (hopefully), and starting radiation treatment in 2 weeks. My total recovery time for surgery is 6 weeks, so I am really going to have to really keep my spirits up so I can start radiation on time. This will be the home stretch of my cancer treatment! I can’t wait until this is all over.

God Bless and have a great weekend everyone. 🙂

