Recently, Lady Gaga opened up about her newest single “Marry the Night”:

“It was one of the worst days of my life and it happened quite quickly, but in my mind, when I think back on that period of my life, it all happened very slow.”

When I first listened to her new album, Born This Way, I didn’t really care for this particular song. I didn’t quit get the message, and I would usually just skip over it. But after listening to her recent interview about its meaning this song inspires and empowers me. Lady Gaga went onto say that the title “Marry the Night” represents her coming to full acceptance with the worst day of her life, when her first record label dropped her and crushed her dreams. Even though it sucked she came to terms with what happened by making a commitment, or “marriage”, to the tragedy. She believes that this is what she had to do to move on and become a stronger woman. Hmmmm … just like ME!

After I listened to the interview I got in my car, played the song on full blast, and cried. I certainly had to “marry the night” when I was diagnosed with cancer, and I feel the same way today after my hair started falling out.

Yup, it started. **sad face**. A little bit started yesterday, and I predicted that today would be worse. It was. I got out of the shower and began brushing my hair, and with each stroke more and more strands of hair came out. Next, it started coming out in clumps. I called out for my husband and he rushed in to let me sob a little on his shoulder for a few minutes. Then I stiffened up and said, “Cut it off.”

Alex was actually happy to give me a hair cut. He trimmed it right up above my shoulders. My hair was still falling out but not as dramatically as with my long hair. That was just too hard to handle. However, whenever I walked the little bit of breeze would blow out the loose strands and soon there was hair EVERY WHERE! So I decided to take my new wig for a test drive and ended up wearing it the whole day. It’s definitely a different look from my natural hair (auburn-red and curly), but when my parents saw it they said they actually liked it once it grew on them (even if they didn’t mean it, bless their hearts!).

Now I am even MORE anxious for my hair cut tomorrow. I can’t wait to have it super short and not have to worry about turning around and seeing a trail of hair on the ground. Yup, if I don’t have my hair tied back I literally leave a trail lol.

This is the part of the journey I am dreading, but I know if I can get through this I can get through anything. It won’t be so bad once it’s done and over with; I can wear my wigs and hats (and fake brows and lashes lol). I just want it to be done!! I’ll just imagine that all of you are holding my hand and taking deep breaths with me. 🙂 I think I will end this blog post with some appropriate lyrics, they pretty much say it all (Amen):

I’m gonna marry the night
I won’t give up on my life
I’m a warrior queen
Live passionately tonight

I’m gonna marry the dark
Gonna make love to the stark
I’m a soldier to my own emptiness
I am a winner

I’m gonna marry the night
I’m gonna marry the night
I’m gonna marry the night

[Chorus]
I’m gonna marry the night
I’m not gonna cry anymore
I’m gonna marry the night
Leave nothing on these streets to explore

M-m-m-Marry m-m-m-marry m-m-m-marry the night
Oh m-m-marry m-m-m-marry m-m-m-marry the night

[Verse 2]
I’m gonna lace up my boots
Throw on some leather and cruise
Down the streets that I love
In my fishnet gloves
I’m a sinner

Then I’ll go down to the bar
But I won’t cry anymore
I’ll hold my whiskey up high
Kiss the bartender twice
I’m a loser

I’m gonna marry the night
I’m gonna marry the night

[Chorus]
I’m gonna marry the night
I’m not gonna cry anymore
I’m gonna marry the night
Leave nothing on these streets to explore

M-m-m-marry m-m-m-marry m-m-m-marry the night
Oh m-m-marry m-m-m-marry m-m-m-marry the night

[Bridge]
Nothing’s too cool
To take me from you
New York is not just a tan that you’ll never lose
Love is the new denim or black
Skeleton guns are wedding bells in the attic
Get Ginger ready climb to El Camino front
Won’t poke holes in the seats with my heels cause that’s
Where we make love

Come on and run
Turn the car on and run

[Chorus]
I’m gonna marry the night
I’m gonna burn a hole in the road
I’m gonna marry the night
Leave nothin’ on these streets to explode

M-m-m-marry m-m-m-marry m-m-m-marry the night
Oh m-m-marry m-m-m-marry m-m-m-marry the night
Oh m-m-marry m-m-m-marry m-m-m-marry the night

I’m gonna marry
Marry
I’m gonna marry
Marry
C’mon c’mon the night
The night”

